The Soviet Union created the Molotov Plan in 1947, a program aiming to rebuild the countries in Eastern Europe that were politically assigned to the Soviet Union. The Plan was proposed as the Soviet Union rejected the Marshall Plan created by Americans.


Britain, France, and the United States tried to reach an understanding with the Soviet Union regarding self-sufficient Germany. However, this attempt remained unsuccessful in 1947. The United States enacted the Marshall Plan, officially European Recovery program in the summer of 1947, that aimed to rebuild Western European countries that were devastated after the end of World War II. The Plan also has the purpose of modernizing industry and of leading Europe to prosperity and to prevent the spread of communism. For this purpose, the US government devoted $12 billion in economic assistance. The Marshall plan aimed to create stable conditions for the survival of democratic institutions.

The Molotov Plan was a Soviet Union initiative aimed to assist Eastern Europe. The Molotov Plan was proposed as an alternative to the Marshall plan as Vyacheslav Molotov rejected it in 1947. The Plan was Soviet-sponsored and has been seen as the USSR version of the Marshall Plan. The grouping was expanded to become the COMECON, which was able to comprise the countries of an Eastern Bloc. The Soviet Union rejected Marshall’s Plan due to their belief that it had a purpose to weaken Soviet interests by making the countries dependant on the United States. The aid given by the Soviet Union allowed European countries to stop relying on American support, which allowed them to reorganize their trade to the USSR. The Plan was controversial as the Soviet Union demanded members of Axis powers to pay reparations for the USSR.