North Korea is a Communist State under Totalitarian Dictatorship. In other words, the leader of the country is the dictator, or Chairman of the State Affairs Commission officially, and the Communist Party is the ruling power in the state.


It is difficult to say how power is distributed in North Korea, since the answer is different if it is received directly on the territory of the state and from the international community.

Officially, the constitution defines North Korea as a dictatorship of people’s democracy. Elections are held in the country, but they are formal as those politicians who are approved by the leadership receive victory and usually only one candidate takes part in the race.

Although the dictatorship belongs to the people due to the constitution, the North Korea government is actually explained in other facts. Virtually all power belongs to Kim Jong Un, who is the Chairman of the State Affairs Commission, Supreme Leader, and Chairman of the Workers’ Party. Consequently, through his official powers as head of state, as well as through the bodies that he leads, defines all the political processes in the country.

The distribution of power in North Korea also has the features of democracy, since powers are divided between the three branches of government: legislative, executive, and judicial. The Supreme People’s Assembly owns the legislative branch, but only formally, since they obey the will of the Communist Party and the Cabinet.

The Cabinet is the body of the executive branch but actually directs all politics. The judiciary belongs to the courts, but they are also dependent on the decision of the top government.

Therefore, the question “What type of government does North Korea have?” has several answers, since one corresponds to the constitution of the state, and the other to real facts.