The construction of the state of a new democracy was directly connected with the implementation of the Three Principles of the People of Sun Yat-sen. To one degree or another, these principles, which are nationalism, democracy, and national prosperity, were reflected in the content of the theory and practice of the new democracy.


Both teachings were aimed at preventing the development of capitalism in China. New democracy as a special third way of revolution and modernization was seen as the only possible fate for China and all colonial and dependent countries.

The civil war that swept China after the victory over Japan became the backdrop of complex political reforms undertaken by the National Government of China under the leadership of the Kuomintang. At the end of 1946, the Constitution of the Republic of China was developed and adopted, and a year later, on December 25, 1947, it entered into force.

The purpose of its adoption was the settlement of the situation in the country, but the embodiment of the principles of the China’s Constitution was complicated by the military situation and the novelty of the Kuomintang political model. The theory of nation-building developed by Sun Yat-sen determined the main features of the Basic Law.

This is a system of five branches of government implemented by the so-called five yuan, or chambers, and the assignment of four political rights to citizens.

The latter includes the right to elect representatives and recall them, the right to take legislative initiative and to review decisions, also called a referendum. And the last is the existence of national autonomies under their submission to the central government. This complex is called Three Principles of the People, which the new Constitution proclaimed the basis of statehood.