The New England Colonies (or the Northern Colonies) included Massachusetts, Connecticut, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Pennsylvania, New York, New Jersey, and Delaware and were inhabited by small proprietors who held to strict Puritanism. The people who settled in the New England Colonies were called “Pilgrims.”


Favorable conditions for the British colonial aspirations of North America arose after 1603 when a new Stuart dynasty came to power, and peace with Spain was established. Three years later, the joint-stock merchant company managed to raise funds and organize an expedition to Virginia. In the 1580s, English possessions in North America were named in honor of the “Virgin Queen” Elizabeth I – at that time only hypothetical.

The first the Northern Colonies, Massachusetts, arose during the persecution of the Puritans under Jacob I. Pennsylvania was founded somewhat later by the Quakers and gave its colony a unique character. Only two colonies (New York and New Jersey) did not have a strictly Puritan character. The Puritans of New England (as their main territories were called) brought religious and political ideas to America, for which they fought and suffered in their homeland and settled in new places like democratic republics. In the colonies of New England, the most important matters were decided at meetings of all citizens. Generally, there were representative meetings and closer councils, and the metropolises were limited only to the appointment of governors who did not hamper local self-government.

The Colonies gradually began to flourish, and everyone who had terrible lives in their homeland and who had a desire and the ability to leave began to move from England. Defining characteristics of the Northern Colonies’ economy were developed craft and manufacturing industries, shipping and maritime trade. It should also be mentioned that the first original manufactories of the New England Colonies did not belong to individual capitalists, but were communal, i.e., municipal.